Sick…

I felt like I have seen every sickness in the book as a teacher- nosebleeds, throwing up, loose teeth, fever, coughing, sneezing, sore throat, and everything in between… Until LO got sick for the first time. Nothing quite prepares you for that. All she wanted in the world was to be held by me. And of course, I obliged. But I felt like I should be doing more. I’m used to sending children down to the school nurse if needed. But there’s no school nurse at home. Sure, i can take her to the pediatrician, but they couldn’t do much more than wait out the fever and tell me to give her lukewarm baths and fever reducers like baby Tylenol and baby Advil. LO acted so different than usual. She just wasn’t herself. And of course, instead of being rational about it, I started worrying if she would ever go back to her old self.
Silly mommy.

Thankfully, it took just a few days and my sweet, smiling baby was back.

Leave a Reply

