All Things Learned…

It has always been interesting to me how children learn. A child comes into this world as a blank slate, and everything that we do shapes the person that they become. No, this isn’t going to be a nature vs. nurture post… that is way too intense for today. But I find it interesting that we can help our children learn to become the best person they can be.

DH always tells this story, so I have heard it a million times, but it’s new to you, dear readers, so here it goes…

When LO was very little, a few months old perhaps, DH would pick her up and (very, very carefully) swing her down onto the bed. The first time he ever did that, she looked at him with the what-in-the-world-did-you-do-that-for and is-this-supposed-to-be-fun face. DH smiled and laughed and after a five second hesitation, so did LO. Since then, she loves any time that she plays with DH. We call her our little daredevil. She laughs every time. So she learned that this is fun and we laugh when this happens. (End of repeated story)

Today, we were at lunch and she wanted something to eat. Her food was a little hot so I cut it up and then waited for it to cool down. I look next to me and lo and behold, she is trying to blow on her food from her chair. She has her entire face scrunched up and is really just spitting on the food, but she is doing it with the intention of getting the food cooler. She even kept saying “ha” which is how she says ‘hot’. So apparently, she has learned that when mommy cuts up food, the next thing we do is the blowing-on-the-food face. However, I’m a little concerned with what my face looks like when I do that. Maybe I need to check a mirror for one of these moments.

Later on, she was crawling around our house. As all parents probably know, this can sometimes end in a boo-boo moment. Sure enough, she slipped on her own two feet (and two hands) and bumped her head. I quickly picked her up and she put her head on my shoulder. As we walked past the freezer, she sat up and pointed to the door. So we opened the door and got our gel pack to help heal the boo-boo. She tried to put it on the top of her head, so I showed her where she should put it instead and she moved it there. So she has learned that when we get hurt, mommy and ice packs make everything better. We also learned that the dog really likes playing with ice packs.

I think it’s amazing how much she has learned from watching DH and me over the past 13 months. It’s only going to continue!

Leave a Reply

