A riddle analogy for taking your children… anywhere.

I remember when I first had LO. I had gotten pretty good at taking her on quick trips to the grocery store, in and out of the pharmacy and pediatrician office, and through the drive through at Starbucks.

The dog was up for her yearly shots when LO was about 3 months old. I decided I had been able to take her all over lately, so surely I could handle that…

Have you ever seen the riddle about a farmer, chicken, fox, and a bag of feed? A farmer needs to get all three things across a lake: a chicken, fox, and a bag of feed. The boat only has enough room for the farmer and one item and you can’t leave anything on the other side that might eat the other (i.e. the chicken with the feed or the chicken with the fox).

That’s what it feels like when you have to take the baby with the dog. I’m sure it’s worse with more than one child too.

First, baby goes in stroller. Then dog goes on leash. Then dog gets in car with leash. Then baby is put in the car seat. Then the stroller gets put in the back. If you have any other items, good luck to you.

I found myself thinking of that first trip today… since then, I have gotten much better at these types of outings. We even took the dog to the dog park today.

One response to “A riddle analogy for taking your children… anywhere.

  1. That’s great! We have two dogs and it was such a struggle when Oster was first born. I wish I could say it’s easier, but both dogs are now 14-years-old and have their own agenda 🙂

Leave a Reply

